“Playing with the Tarot is an art that enables you to see what you did not see before.”

Philippe St. Giroux

These come in four suits. They are Wands (Intentional), Cups (Creational), Swords (Mental), and Pentacles (Material). They are also represented by the elements, Fire, Water, Air, and Earth. There are four planes of the Tree of Life. Each card has its place on the Tree of Life the same as the Major Arcana. These are all listed below.

Knights- Hokmah: Warrior. Valiant actions and messengers.

Queens- Binah: Mother. Maturity and a deep understanding of life.

Kings- Tiferet: Father. Defenders and security.

Pages- Malkhut: Slave. Those at the beginning of life’s journey.

Aces- Keter: The crown which carries four florets.

2s– Hokmah: Wisdom pours out and forms four rivers.

3s- Binah: From intelligence there gives four proofs.

4s- Hesed: From mercy is four benefactions.

5s- Gevurah: Rigor punishes four crimes four times.

6s- Tiferet: Through four pure rays is beauty revealed.

7s- Nezah: Let us celebrate four times the eternal victory.

8s- Hod: The triumphs are four times in all eternity.

9s- Yesod: This throne is supported upon four foundations.

10s- Malkhut: One fourfold kingdom owned in endless sway.


This link is to a video explaining the Minor Arcana and their meanings from a book by Eliphas Levi.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: